Skip to main content

14th Annual John Young History Maker Celebration – Postponed

Tuesday, April 28, 2020

For the past fourteen years, the Historical Society of Central Florida has recognized the outstanding achievements of select community members by bestowing the John Young History Maker Award upon a Central Floridian whose lifetime of achievement has made a historic impact on the community.

The John Young History Maker Award was named after our hometown hero, Captain John Young, who was the ninth person to walk on the moon as Commander of the Apollo 16 mission in 1972.

This year we are honoring Dr. Sanford “Sandy” Shugart as the History Maker Present and Paul C. Perkins, Sr. and Beth Johnson as History Makers Past.

Proceeds from the event go toward supporting Orange County Regional History Center’s education programs, exhibits, and efforts to preserve local history.

Applications for the John Young History Maker Future scholarship can be found here.

Tickets & Sponsorships

Thanks to our  Sponsors:


WUCF logo



Walt Disney World logo

BBT/Suntrust text logo